During Pandemics Everyone Writes About the Sky

by Kendra Nuttall


Sun rays against skin, birds chasing half-empty airplanes
across mango sunsets into moonlight.

I remember the Idaho sky in fall.
I remember Grandpa’s Thanksgiving Day hugs.
I remember Thanksgiving.

I’m one of the lucky ones, I haven’t forgotten
touch. I haven’t forgotten the impossible
warmth radiating from sleeping dogs on winter mornings.

I haven’t forgotten
how to feel. Do you remember the day we got married?
It was raining and we were happy.
It’s raining and we are still happy.



Kendra Nuttall is a copywriter by day and poet by night. Her work has appeared in Spectrum, Capsule Stories, and Chiron Review, among others. She lives in Utah with her husband and poodle. Her debut book, A Statistical Study of Randomness, is forthcoming from Finishing Line Press. Sally Lelong is a visual storyteller working in a variety of media that lend themselves to use in a conceptual framework. She lives and works in New York, and routinely exhibits her work in a variety of settings from print to thematic installations to street art.

Leave a comment